Skip to main content

Emergency Contact, by Mary H. K. Choi


From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—






For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.


 

* "Choi sensitively shows the evolution of two lonely, complicated people who slowly emerge from their shells to risk an intimate relationship. Her sharp wit and skillful character development...ensure that readers will feel that they know Penny and Sam inside and out before the gratifying conclusion." (Publisher's Weekly - starred review January 1, 2018)

* "Choi creates an up-to-date and realistic contemporary romance by upending the love story trope....A highly recommended purchase for the teens who enjoy realistic relationship fiction. Recommended for fans of Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything and Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park." (School Library Journal - starred review February 1, 2018)

"Readers who enjoyed the unorthodox evolution of romance in Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything (2015) will like this debut novel." (Booklist March 7, 2018)   


 


Popular posts from this blog

Teen Summer Internship Opportunity @ the Visalia Branch Library!

Give Back to Your Community &  Get Valuable Job Experience! 



Teens! If you are at least 15 year old and looking for something to do this summer, think about interning at your local library. We are now accepting applications for The Friends of the Tulare County Library Summer Intern Scholarship at the Visalia Branch Library!

There will be at least four Summer interns selected during our competitive application process. Please pick up an application at the Visalia Branch Library.  

Availability during our business hours this summer, past volunteering experience, and current standing (including attendance at Teen Advisory Group meetings) as a library volunteer will all be weighed as we invite the top 20 applicants to interview.  Teens must be at least 15 years old by June 2019 to apply.

The stipend will be at least $200, awarded after the successful completion of the internship. This scholarship is generously sponsored by the Friends of the Tulare County Library. 

Applications are due by M…

Demon Love Spell

Demon Love Spell by Mayu Shinjo

Miko casts a spell to contain the powers of the sexy demon Kagura, who feeds off the passion of women, but while her spell is effective in keeping Kagura from other girls, his lust becomes directed exclusively toward Miko.



Read the entire series:
Vol. 1Vol. 2Vol. 3Vol. 4Vol. 5

What's Going on in August?

Most Visalia teens are going back to school in mid-August. Our teen programming is on the light side this month, but it certainly won't stay that way! We will  be offering our Lunch at the Library program which is for kids and teens 1-18 until August 9th. Please look forward to the return of our monthly Teen Advisory Group meetings, which return September 7th at 3pm. Virtual Reality returns September 20th at 4pm and please look forward to the return of Teen painting workshops, dates/times TBD!