Skip to main content

Girl out of Water, by Laura Silverman


 Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.








Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.
Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.


Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.


 
"Debut novelist Silverman realistically captures Anise's love for her surfing life and the terrible sacrifice she makes when leaving it behind for a whole summer, and her relationships with her family are bittersweet and loving, giving her depth of character. Meanwhile, Lincoln is a charmer, and thanks for Silverman's excellent portrayal of a boy who is not defined by his disability, like Anise, reader will easily forget that he is missing an arm." - Booklist

"Anise's reluctance to leave, rooted in worries of forgetting home and being forgotten, will resonate with readers who've ever been homesick...A quick summer read to reassure teens who worry about college or blooming where they're planted." – Kirkus


"Readers will empathize with Anise as she explores this different side of her life. The book features a cast of diverse characters and a fresh take on sports (surfing and skateboarding)... worthy of a spot in any teen's beach bag.”  - School Library Journal




Popular posts from this blog

Teen Summer Internship Opportunity @ the Visalia Branch Library!

Give Back to Your Community &  Get Valuable Job Experience! 



Teens! If you are at least 15 year old and looking for something to do this summer, think about interning at your local library. We are now accepting applications for The Friends of the Tulare County Library Summer Intern Scholarship at the Visalia Branch Library!

There will be at least four Summer interns selected during our competitive application process. Please pick up an application at the Visalia Branch Library.  

Availability during our business hours this summer, past volunteering experience, and current standing (including attendance at Teen Advisory Group meetings) as a library volunteer will all be weighed as we invite the top 20 applicants to interview.  Teens must be at least 15 years old by June 2019 to apply.

The stipend will be at least $200, awarded after the successful completion of the internship. This scholarship is generously sponsored by the Friends of the Tulare County Library. 

Applications are due by M…

What's Going on in August?

Most Visalia teens are going back to school in mid-August. Our teen programming is on the light side this month, but it certainly won't stay that way! We will  be offering our Lunch at the Library program which is for kids and teens 1-18 until August 9th. Please look forward to the return of our monthly Teen Advisory Group meetings, which return September 7th at 3pm. Virtual Reality returns September 20th at 4pm and please look forward to the return of Teen painting workshops, dates/times TBD!



Demon Love Spell

Demon Love Spell by Mayu Shinjo

Miko casts a spell to contain the powers of the sexy demon Kagura, who feeds off the passion of women, but while her spell is effective in keeping Kagura from other girls, his lust becomes directed exclusively toward Miko.



Read the entire series:
Vol. 1Vol. 2Vol. 3Vol. 4Vol. 5