Skip to main content

We'll Fly Away, by Bryan Bliss





Luke and Toby have always had each other’s backs. But then one choice—or maybe it is a series of choices—sets them down an irrevocable path. We’ll Fly Away weaves together Luke and Toby’s senior year of high school with letters Luke writes to Toby later—from death row.







Best friends since childhood, Luke and Toby have dreamed of one thing: getting out of their dead-end town. Soon they finally will, riding the tails of Luke’s wrestling scholarship, never looking back. If they don’t drift apart first. If Toby’s abusive dad, or Luke’s unreliable mom, or anything else their complicated lives throw at them doesn’t get in the way.

Tense and emotional, this hard-hitting novel explores family abuse, sex, love, and friendship, and how far people will go to protect those they love. For fans of Jason Reynolds, Marieke Nijkamp, and NPR’s Serial podcast.

 

"Bryan Bliss has written an empathetic and stirring novel about what it means to fight for the outcasts, the forgotten, and even the hated, reminding us that we all have worth. That we are all valuable."—Sister Helen Prejean, author of Dead Man Walking

“A poignant story of loyalty, abuse, and poverty . . . This compassionate and beautifully rendered novel packs an emotional punch.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

A smart, rugged, all-too-true story of friendship under fire. Believable characters and page-turning tension.”—Chris Crutcher, author of Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes

“This fast-paced read will have teens tearing through chapters to find out why Luke is in jail. . . . The conclusion will leave them devastated. This is [a] touching book about male friendship for fans of Jason Reynolds.”—School Library Journal

“The unshakable and unconditional bond between the young men is tested and proves true, a ray of light in the darkness of their stories.”—VOYA

Popular posts from this blog

Demon Love Spell

Demon Love Spell by Mayu Shinjo Miko casts a spell to contain the powers of the sexy demon Kagura, who feeds off the passion of women, but while her spell is effective in keeping Kagura from other girls, his lust becomes directed exclusively toward Miko. Read the entire series: Vol. 1 Vol. 2 Vol. 3    Vol. 4 Vol. 5

Witch and Wizard: The Manga

Witch and Wizard: The Manga by James Patterson Imagine waking up to find that the world around you - life as you know it - has changed in an instant. That's what happens to Whit Allgood and his sister, Wisty. They thought that they were just a couple of normal teenagers, until their rude awakening at the hands of a dozen armed police! Charged with being a wizard and a witch, accused of having incredible powers they never dreamed possible, the siblings find themselves the targets of an upstart political regime, The New Order, which has swept the country and vowed to wipe "their kind" from existence. Now Whit and Wisty must fight for both their freedom and their lives as they unlock the powers burning inside of them! Read the entire series: Vol. 1 Vol. 2  Vol. 3

Teen Summer Internship Opportunity @ the Visalia Branch Library!

Give Back to Your Community &  Get Valuable Job Experience!  Teens! If you are at least 15 year old and looking for something to do this summer, think about interning at your local library. We are now accepting applications for The Friends of the Tulare County Library Summer Intern Scholarship at the Visalia Branch Library! There will be at least four Summer interns selected during our competitive application process. Please pick up an application at the Visalia Branch Library.   Availability during our business hours this summer, past volunteering experience, and current standing (including attendance at Teen Advisory Group meetings) as a library volunteer will all be weighed as we invite the top 20 applicants to interview.  Teens must be at least 15 years old by June 2019 to apply. The stipend will be at least $200, awarded after the successful completion of the internship. This scholarship is generously sponsored by the Friends of the Tulare County Library.  A